Random Thought Thursdays

RTTs: Blow Job Class

I mean, thanks for being straight up about it.

Upon seeing this tweet pop into my Twitter news feed on Saturday, I thought to myself, “It’s odd that there are classes offered to teach people good techniques for erotic sexual acts.” But maybe it’s just me.

It seems like we’ve turned sex and erotic sexual acts (such as a blow job) into actions to be performed- and performed well. I mean if they’re not done well, why do them at all? These things aren’t meant to be anything more than acts of physical pleasure! Oh wait…

I’ve always had the understanding that these actions were to engage in an intimate way with your partner– to connect emotionally and physically. Obviously, there if also the desire to physically pleasure your partner as well. I also thought part of the intimate connection happens through experimenting with one another to figure out what each other likes. It seems to me like these classes are cutting into one’s ability to do that by offering all of the participants a surefire way to #pophisrocket.

So, am I overreacting?

What do you think about the idea of offering classes on sexual technique?

Would you mind if your partner took a class like this? Would you discourage/encourage it?

Side note: how in the world do you teach/take a class on blow job techniques? It couldn’t be very interactive…

4 thoughts on “RTTs: Blow Job Class

  1. I have found in my own marriage that half the excitement is getting to know what your spouse enjoys and getting good at it. He doesn’t want me to be a trained expert, and it is kind of exciting to hear that each time gets better and better! 🙂

    • I love that you brought up the idea of communicating about what you like and don’t like with your spouse. Communication is so key to every aspect of a relationship- both in and out of the bedroom! I also like the idea of learning and growing together. I think it would make life more of an adventure and a journey together. Thanks for you comment!

  2. In the movie, “Old School”, there is a scene where the wives have a guy over to teach one of these classes kind of like Partylite or Tupperware, Pampered Chef, etc. I don’t think it’s so much about learning as it is about the novelty and the mighty dollar. People will use anything to make a buck and as we all know, Sex Sells. I think it’s pretty stupid. All of it. I can’t remember what it’s called but there is another one of these party things that has sex toys and lubes and stuff. My wife got talked into going to one once. I thought it was totally ridiculous when she told me what it was like. She was invited to another one and I talked her out of going.

    • That’s so interesting. I guess I could have assumed these types of “parties” existed, but I’ve never thought much about it. I’m glad that you and your wife were able to talk about it! I don’t know your wife, but I do think that there would be a lot of women who would be interested in going to one of those parties. I wonder why that is? If there’s something deeper than the novelty of it for us (as females). I worry about girls and women in general because I think society is feeding us a lie that we need to be “good” at sex and really exotic in our eroticism.

Leave a Reply

